Jaclyn Hill x Morphe Palette: In-Depth Review & Swatches: It is Worth the Hype? 

The Jaclyn Hill x Morphe Palette is one of those products that is so buzzed about and hyped up on social media, it almost seems too good to be true. I had to get my hands on this and do a no holds bar review! We will be dividing in deep with this one, discussing everything from ordering the palette, swatches, textures, colors, price and the most important part: is it really worth the hype?!

Who is Jaclyn Hill?

If you aren’t familiar with Jaclyn Hill, she is a make up artist and beauty influencer who has a very popular YouTube channel. Jaclyn has partnered with Morphe in the past to do a “favorites palette” showcasing her favorite Morphe shadows. In that collab she was asked to just pick from the already manufactured eyeshadows to create a palette. Think of this collab as her filling up an empty Z Palette with her favorite individual eyeshadows.

What Makes This Palette Custom?

This time around was much different for Jaclyn being that The Jaclyn Hill x Morphe Palette is a product of her own imagination. Jaclyn helped with the colors, textures, finishes, etc. One of the processes she spoke about when launching was the pressing process. Each color is pressed into the pan to a certain degree in order to give you the ideal color payoff. If a color is pressed too hard, it can be difficult to lift the pigment from the pan to your brush. If a color is packed too lightly, there can be a ton of fall out when you dip your brush in to pick up product. Jaclyn had these shadow represses over and over and over making sure the consistency was perfect. Each color in this palette is individually packed to the desired amount for that particular shade (meaning instead of pressing all of the shadows with same amount of pressure, each color has a certain amount of pressure applied to make sure the color is perfect.) This was a very lengthy process that Jaclyn dedicated herself to for 2 years! Talk about anticipation..

Ordering

This palette was originally launched in June 2017 and has since been restocked a few times. I wanted this so incredibly bad the first time around but I just couldn’t get on the website fast enough, being that it sold out within the first hour. This last restock, I was READY! I had two computer screens up side by side with the Morphe website at 10:45am, just waiting for the 11am banner to say “IN STOCK” (I live on the east coast, it was live 8am on the west coast). As soon as 11am hit I clicked on the Jaclyn Hill Palette link and placed it in my cart! I will mention I was surprised that I couldn’t buy more than 1 palette, but I understand it’s a sought after item and I shouldn’t be so greedy.

Price

The palette is $38 and the shipping charge was $7.95, so overall I spent $45.95.

If you were to break this down, from the subtotal price, each shadow would be $1.09.

If you were to break this down from the overall total, each shadow would be $1.43.

Shipping

I ordered this on Tuesday 08/22 and it was to my house by Saturday 08/26. Insanely fast delivery! This was packaged well, even bubble wrapped inside the box, which is always nice!

Packaging

This palette comes in a cardboard unit that it a heavy duty quality, yet lightweight. This isn’t the fanciest, or most innovative packaging ever; very standard as far as cardboard palettes go. The white and silver color scheme on the outside of the palette is very chic, I like how subtle yet elegant the front is. I could tell right away that this packaging is going to show wear and tear being thats is bright white; pigment will show up on the outside of the unit if you’re not careful.


The color names are NOT listed anywhere on the actual palette! This isn’t a huge deal for the everyday makeup wearer, but it is an issue for beauty bloggers/influencers being that you want know the shade name when doing tutorials, etc.

One downside of this palette is that there is no mirror- at all. Where a mirror would normally lay, theres a note instead that reads, “This palette is dedicated to all my loving subscribers. XO Jaclyn”.  Thats cute and all, but what I did was tape the card insert with the color names so I could reference it in the future.

Colors/ Finishes

There are 35 shades in this palette, ranging in color families and finishes. There are mattes, shimmers, foils, cool tones, warm tones, neutral tones- pretty much everything you could ask for in a palette. The one thing I will nitpick is there is no matte white shade (I’m a strict believer in having a pure white and pure black in every palette!), but really this isn’t a huge deal, as there are two shimmery off white shades. The individual pans are a good size, this is definitely a generous palette when it comes to product amount.

Texture

The matte shades in here are so creamy compared to other matte shades, I was really blow away when I first touched these. The shimmers almost feel wet on the fingers when you swirl into the pans. All of there colors swatch beautifully on the arm and wear so well on the eye. These blend out really well although I did see some patchy areas with the shimmery shades when applied with a brush. I definitely recommend spraying you brush first and picking up the product wet, or use your fingers to warm up the shadow when applying. These are very soft shadows so there is a bit of fall out in the palette, however I haven’t noticed any fall out of my face when applying these.

Swatches

These swatches were done of bare, clean skin. I did not use any primers on my skin before switching. I have inserted the color names into the photos to make it easier for everyone to understand. The swatches are done per row, (I started at the elbow and worked my way to the wrist, so technically these are the rows backwards, sorry about that). 


 

 

Pros & Cons

Screen Shot 2017-09-03 at 3.48.48 PM

Overall

Overall, I think this palette is absolutely gorgeous and an insane deal. These are currently sold out of the Morphe website, but I have heard rumors of another launch for this!!

Disclaimers

This is not a sponsored post/AD. I purchased this palette with my own money.

This is my personal opinion. If you disagree, thats totally fine. Different opinions are welcome here and I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments!

Thanks for reading! Don’t forget to follow my blog and Instagram (@bewitchingmakeup). 

Leave a Reply

