Urban Decay Velvetizer: Worth the Hype?

Urban Decay recently launched a new product, the Velvetizer Translucent Mix In Medium! This is a super finely milled powder that you mix in with liquid foundation! It’s is said to give extra coverage and make the skin look velvety smooth. I had to try this out since I’ve never tried a mix in medium before. I wanted to do a in depth review of this since it’s so new.

Purchasing/ Shipping

I purchased this from Urbandecay.com for $34 on July 5th. I recieved an email that night saying my order “was being prepped”. By the 12th the package was sitting on my doorstep! Thats 7 days total, but only 4 business days. I’m very impressed with the speedy delivery and how everything was packaged so nicely. The items were carefully wrapped in purple tissue paper which has little Urban Decay logos all over it! (I did order a few other products as seen in the photo)

Packaging

The box this came in has velvet detailing and so does the jar! It is super cute, although not that practical. The velvet on the jar seems to get covered by powder after just one use. Not a huge flaw, just something to point out.

The sifter is shaped like the Urban Decay UD logo, such a nice touch!

Color

There are so many “translucent” powders out there that are not translucent, so when I see something labeled as such, I’m hesitant. I was nervous that this would oxidize my foundation when mixed in, and give me the wrong color, however I was pleasantly surprised when this was actually translucent!!!! Yay!

Texture

This powder is the most lightweight, finely milled powder I’ve ever touched. It is so lightweight that it’s messy if you don’t pay attention. This will end up everywhere if you open the jar all willy-nilly, so be careful! Although, I really like the feel of this powder, it doesn’t work for baking the under eye because it’s so fine.

Things to Know Before Using

This product doubles as a setting powder and/or a mix in medium. If you are using this as setting powder, just keep in mind that this does not attach well to sponge. I wouldn’t recommend applying this with a beauty blender or trying to bake the under eye; the powder is just too fine to adhere to a sponge-like applicator. This is best applied with a large fluffy brush which will pick up the product and distribute it evenly.

To use this as a mix in medium, you need a liquid foundation. I’ve used a few brands with this powder and so far, the Wet n Wild Photo Focus is my favorite to combine with this. It mixes well with the Photo Focus and looks really nice on the skin.

How To:

Step 1: Pour out a dime sized amount of powder onto a glass palette or mixing bowl. This comes out quickly, be mindful!

Step 2: Add Liquid Foundation

Step 4: Mix Together (I used a brush handle)

This does thicken up the foundation immediately so it’s less liquid-y. Even thought this makes the foundation thicker, it doesn’t  change the blendability. The foundation still applied very smoothly and blended out nice.

I will say I had no hope for this product, why would you mix a powder into a liquid foundation?! I figured this would be weird but I WAS WRONG!! This really does give extra coverage!

Wearability

This looks so beautiful on the skin! It makes everything look soft and velvety. My skin looks so smooth and angelic! This does make my foundation Matte, but not dry or cakey. I love the way this look and it does seem to keep my skin from getting oily throughout the day. I have used this everyday since I purchased it. I will say one more time, be mindful when using this! A little product goes a long way and the more I have been using this, the better I have gotten at mixing the perfect ratio. In these photos I when a little heavy with the powder and because of that I had a some creasing under my eyes.

 

Availability

I purchased this from urbandecay.com for $34. I have also seen this listed on Sephora.com -although last I check it was sold out. That is a little pricey for the amount of product you receive, but a little goes a long way. If you struggle with your complexion, this is definitely worth the price.

 Overall

I am so impression with this product. It’s a very new concept to me and I am loving it! If you aren’t into full coverage or matte finish, then this probably wouldn’t be your cup of tea. But if you have discoloration, acne or uneven skin, like me, you might fall in love with this as hard as I did.

Has anyone else tried this? I’m curious on everyone’s thought! Let me know in the comment below.

Thanks for reading! Don’t forget to follow my Instagram and Blog, (@bewitchingmakeup

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

