Collagen Hydro Gel Gold Mask Review

I see so many beauty products, both makeup and skin care, that use gold in them, so I was really intrigued when I saw a gold mask at Walmart. I was super excited to try this out and wanted to share my thoughts with all of you!
This Collagen Hydro Gel Gold Mask is made by Masqueology. The packaging states “the gold and collagen will help hydrate and revitalize dull fatigued skin while detoxifying the impurities in the skin to give an overall glow and life to the skin”.

The directions say to clean your skin and then apply the mask for 20 minutes. After the 20 minutes, rather than washing off the excess, this says to massage it in the face and neck.

So, like always, lets break this down into categories: packaging, appearance, texture, smell, productivity and price/availability.

Packaging

This comes in a black and gold flat unit. You can feel the gel consistency when you squeeze the package, the mask slips around inside. It is a sturdy package that would hold up well if you were traveling or have this kicking around for a while before you use it. The top has a notch on the side to make opening the unit easy peasy.

Once you get this open, the mask itself is folded with plastic separators in between the layers. This is kind of tough to unfold, so be careful!

Appearance

I expected this to be solid gold, like the photo on the label, but it isn’t. This is a cloudy translucent mask with gold sparkles in it. The packaging it very misleading, being that it shows a golden full face mask. Besides the color, the mask itself is kind of weird, but also kind of genius. This is two pieces; one piece goes across the mouth/chin and then the other piece covers from the upper lip to the hair line. I applied the bottom piece first and totally looked like Hannibal Lecture! After putting the top piece on it felt secure on my face, although I did rip the mouth and eye holes a little bigger so it was more comfortable.

Texture

This is a gel mask, so keep that in mind. This is pretty slippery and feels like a thicker version of saran wrap that’s covered in liquid, that sound weird but it’s true. The mask is very thin so, be gentle to not rip this! The texture is definitely completely different than a paper sheet mask. Because of the bendable plastic-y material, and how wet this is, it really clings to the face. I love how this hugged the contours of my face and really stayed in place for the 20 minutes. I was able to do work on my computer, with my head kind of tilted down, and this did slip or slide at all.

Smell

There is no odor to this mask at all! Yay! I really like odorless mass, being that it sits right under the nose and I’m not huge on strong fragrances.

Productivity

After wearing this for 20 minutes, it peeled off really easily. There was a good amount of the serum on my face still and I rubbed that in all over. It felt silky and lightweight, similar to a facial oil. It wasn’t sticky and slimy at all! I didn’t notice any immediately tightening but I did feel very moisturized and refreshed. I applied this right before bed so that I could really let the serum marinate on my skin over night. In the morning, my makeup went on smoothly and my skin looked so glowing and hydrated! I even got a few compliments on my skin that day and I don’t have great skin so I never get compliments on it! I would say this definitely helped with dullness and hydration. I did wash my face the next morning before doing my makeup, so I don’t know how this serum would layer underneath.

Price/Availability

I purchased this at Walmart for $2.50.. can you believe that?!?!!? This mask is really great and I cannot believe it’s so inexpensive and readily available.

Overall

I will absolutely be using these masks again! The package does say its good for all skin types so I highly recommend checking these out, especially since it’s only $2.50!

Thanks for reading! Don’t forget to follow my Instagram and Blog, (@bewitchingmakeup)

Leave a Reply

