Ipsy vs. Sephora: June Unboxing

Hello everyone, welcome back to my blog! Today is one of my favorite days, UNBOXING SUBSCRIPTION BOXES DAY!!!!  You may have noticed I didn’t do this last month. There was an issue with one of my subscriptions so I received it super later. Because of that, I skipped May’s unboxing. But now I’m back in the swing of things and have two subscription boxes to share with you guys and gals.

In the red corner, we have Ipsy Glam Bag! For $10 per month, this box includes 5 products ranging from sample to full sized! These products are a mixture of high end and drugstore items.

In the blue corner, we have Sephora Play Box! This also weighs in a $10 per month for 5 products ranging from sample to full size, however these brands are high-end brands exclusively.

 Each bag will be reviewed thoroughly, piece by piece so that we can determine the better box. You will notice the product lists have the sizes listed next to them:

Full sized= (FS)

Deluxe Sample= (DS)

Sample= (S)

Please note the prices listed are what I have found online at different retailers and are for FULL SIZED products. If you have an Ipsy subscription, you can find deals for certain brands, so check there before purchasing to save some pennies..  Okay, lets dive in!

Ipsy Products

 

Kokie Professional Nail Polish in Gone Rio, (FS)

Privai Matte Moisturizer, (DS)

The Balm Cosmetics Balm Springs Blush, (S)

NYX Whipped Lip & Cheek Souffle, (DS)

Doucce Maxlash Volumizer Mascara, (DS)

First, the cosmetics bag this month is super adorable. I am really hit and miss with these bags, sometimes I love them and sometimes I don’t understand why theres so awful, so I was very pleased to see this fun design this month!

Kokie Professional Nail Polish in Gone Rio is a really nice coral-y shade of pink. Perfect shade for summer! I haven’t used this brand, but coincidentally I just watched Tati Westbrook’s Youtube channel and she did a full review of Kokie. After watching that I was intrigued to try this brand out and then bam!, its in my Ipsy bag! I haven’t tried this yet but definitely will be soon. This brand is new to Walmart I believe, this polish is listed on kokiecosmetics.com for $6, awesome price!

Privai Matte Moisturizer is listed on the webiste, privia.com for $30. This is described to help oily/blemish skin so it sounds like I will love it! I haven’t tried it yet but believe you me, this will be in use very soon. It has grapeseed and sage extract listed in the ingredients. I did swatch it on the back of my hand and the texture feels sikly and moisturizing. This smells like lemons, very citrus like.

The Balm Cosmetics Balm Springs Blush is listed on kohls.com for $21. This is one of those tiny samples that I just end up swatching and forgetting about. I totally need to invest in a Z palette to depot all these little guys! I am a fan of Balm cosmetics, I’m familiar with there eyeshadows and mascaras but I’ve never used their blushes. I will say this color is very nice! I prefer pale/muted blushes and this is a gorgeous pale pink. I think this color will color very nicely with my complex so I will be try this out, however I have sooooo many blushes so I don’t see myself buying a full sized one any time soon.

NYX Whipped Lip & Cheek Souffle is not the texture I thought is would be. For some reason I thought this would be light and fluffy, like an air whipped consistency. Remember the Dream Mousse bronzer from Maybelline back in the day (aka the bronzer I used every single day of high school)? That’s totally what I expected when I opened this but alas, it was very slippery and slick. I like the color and it works really well for a lip topper.

Doucce Maxlash Volumizer Mascara is listed on their website, doucce.com for $22. Pretty average price for mascara. I haven’t used this product yet. I just have so many mascaras so I haven’t reached for this one at all. The wand is nice, the type of bristles I prefer.

Sephora Products


Kat Von D Liquid Lipstick Lovesick, (DS)

Klorane Dry Shampoo, (DS)

Benefits the Porfessional, (S)

Verb Sea Spray, (DS)

Coola Makeup Setting Spray, (S)

The bag this month is okay. I say it every month, I don’t really like these draw string bags. The graphic is cute but beyond that I probably wont use this bag again, sorry Sephora.

Kat Von D Liquid Lipstick in Lovesick is a gorgeous pink/mauve color. I am very familiar with this product as I own 4 of these already, (Lolita, Lolita II, Xo, and Melancholia). The formula on these are phenomenal! They are a bit dry, but if you exfoliate your lips before applying then you shouldn’t have a problem at all. The color range in the liquid lipsticks are amazing, they are listed on sephora.com for $20 each. I definitely recommend these if you need long lasting, pigmented color. I couldn’t help but swatch this as soon as I opened it.

Klorane Dry Shampoo is listed on sphora.com for $10 or $20 depending on the size you buy. This came with the $10 can and OH. MY. GOODNESS. GIMME. MORE! This dry shampoo is my new obsession!!!!! I really love this stuff and as cheap as I am, I’ll spring $20 for another can of this as soon as this one run out. If you like dry shampoos that really soak up excess oils and give you volume, this for you! When you spray it on it goes completely gray, so I was little nervous. But after 3 minutes you can shake it out and brush through your hair for a serious refresher.

Benefits the Professional is another product I have used in the past, it’s $30 on sephora.com . I really love the way this helps minimize the appearance of pores. The texture is like no other, it’s so silky. Heres a photo I shared a while back showing the difference of wearing foundation with and without, which kind if speaks for itself.

Verb Sea Spray is listed for $7 or $14 on spehora.com, depending on the size. This is the $7 size which contained 2.4 oz of product. I will say I’m not big of texturizing sprays but I am interested to try this out being that its the perfect time of year for beach waves. This smells fresh and floraly and the mister on the bottle is very nice!!

Coola Makeup Setting Spray is listed on sephora.com for $36, holy cow! That seems like a lot of money for a setting spray to me.. I currently use Tarte Marine Boosting Spray and Mac Fix Plus which are both about $25 each. This Coola spray does has 30 spa, which is great but I don’t want two fall in love with a product that expensive. Maybe I’ll use this in a giveaway?

Overall


My Ipsy bag was pretty good, I’m excited about the nail polish and matte moisturizer. The blush is a pretty color but I don’t like these tiny samples (again this could easily be solved by getting a z palette but I’m lazy!)

My Sephora bag is bananas. I looooove me some liquid lipsticks and this dry shampoo is my new best friend. Because of those two products alone I have to say, the winner is……… Sephora Play Box!

Side note

As much as I really love doing beauty unboxings, I’m feeling like these small samples just aren’t cutting it anymore. I don’t want to pay for these monthly subscriptions to not use the products. I am pretty torn here, should I cancel these boxes and do a more expensive box like Boxy Charm or Glossy Box? Those are closer to $20 a month, but they usually come with all full sized products so I feel like I would use them more regularly. Let me know in the comments what you think; Is it time for something new or do you guys and gals want me to stick with Ipsy/Sephora?

Thanks for reading! Dont forget to follow my IG and Blog (@bewitchingmakeup).

Leave a Reply

