Ipsy VS Sephora Play: March 2017

This month I received my first Sephora Play box and I was sooooo excited to unbox it. It just so happened that it was delivered the same day as my Ipsy bag, so I figured why not do a double unboxing?! I’m thinking it would be fun to put these two subscriptions up against each other to battle it out. Which bag is worth the $10 per month, and which one is superior?


If you are unfamiliar with these subscription boxes, heres how they work: Each month you are billed $10 automatically and sent a subscription box. The box includes a cosmetic bag and 5 cosmetic products. These products range from sample to full sized and retails at different price marks. Ipsy sends a collection of drugstore and high end brands. Shore Play sends brands that are sold in Sephora stores.

Listed in the product descriptions are the pricing for a full sized product. The Ipsy products are listed from different websites that I found the cheapest sale price. The Sephora products pricing is listed from the Sephora website.
Ipsy Products: 


  • Cosmetics Bag
  • First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Face Moisturizer
  • Tarte Cosmetic Tartest Lip Paint
  • Eyeko Fat Eye Stick
  • Eva Nyc Mane Magic 10-IN-1 Primer
  • Elizabeth Mott Blending Brush

Sephora Play Products:


  • Cosmetics Bag
  • Benefits Watts Up Highlighter
  • Living Proof Full Dry Volume Blast
  • Glam Glow Glowstarer Mega illuminating Moisturizer
  • Bobbi Brown Long Wear Cream Eyeshadow
  • Josie Maran Finishing Balm
  • Chloe Sample Perfume

Now lets break down each item!

Ipsy

Cosmetic Bag


This is my favorite bag from Ipsy yet! I’m in love with the color and design. The flap over top is cute and playful. This went into my purse immediately as a wallet! I would honestly pay close to $10 for this bag alone because its just so stylish. So I am beyond happy. As you may know, there are some Ipsy bags I cannot stand and just give away because they are not my style. This isn’t one of them, I kept this baby fir myself.

First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Face Moisturizer

This brand is fantastic; I was very pleased to see this in this months bag. I am a huge skincare person and this winter has been drying me out! I have been testing a bunch of new moisturizers lately and this is one of the best I’ve found for my nighttime routine. My skin feels very soft and hydrated after applying this, and a small amount stretches pretty far. My one complaint is this isn’t an under-makeup-kind-of-moisturizer, not for me at least. I wouldn’t say it’s oily, but my makeup gets oily quicker with this underneath, opposed to other face moisturizers I’ve used. I would 100% recommend to use before bed! A full sized bottle can be found on sephora.com for $24.

Tarte Cosmetis Tartest Lip Paint in Rose 

Its like Ipsy read my mind! I’ve wanted to try the Tartest Lip Paint for a while now, and not only did I receive this, but the color is spot on! If I were to purchase a full sized, this is the type of color I would go for. I am a huge fan of Tarte, it’s probably my favorite cosmetic company. Whenever I see Tarte in a subscription box I get a little too excited! I wore this the second I opened it and I hate to say, it’s really drying. This wore well throughout the day, no flaking or cracking. I did end up topping it with some chap stick after about 2 hours. If I had prepped my lips better which I typically do with matte lipsticks, this wouldn’t have been so drying, but I was so excited and just slapped it on. This is available at Sephora for $20 for a full size, and the color range is beautiful.

Eyeko Fat Eye Stick

This swatched pretty on my hand but did not work well on my eyes. I think it’s because I had used another stick eyeshadow that went on like a dream and then went to use this and was let down. I attempted to highlight the inner corners of my eye with this, but it just didn’t transfer onto my eyes well. I like the color and the idea of this, but it just didn’t hold a candle to my other eyeshadow stick (listed below in my Sephora Play box). This is waaaaay less expensive that that other eyeshadow stick, so keep that in mind. I found this listed on Walmart.com for $8.99. I think I could get a better handle on this if I used it again, maybe with a thick eyeshadow primer to really pick up the color.

Eva-Nya Mane Magic 10-IN-1 Primer

I haven’t used this product yet, but I plan to! The label really makes it sound like this is the bees knees, and I hope it is, my hair could use a pick me up! This is said to detangle, cut down drying time, add shine, protect against heat and more. If this truly does all those things, I will be one happy camper. Maybe I’ll use this tomorrow and blow dry my hair? I’ll keep you guys and gals posted. This full sized is listed on ulta.com for $8.99, not too shabby!

Elizabeth Mott Blending Brush

This is officially my favorite eyeshadow brush!!! This blends out so beautifully, I feel like this really helps me step up my transitions between colors. The brush is soft and fluffy, but dense enough to blend and buff out darker colors. The handle is a good size and shape, not to mention its is a gorgeous shade of turquoise/ robins egg blue. Looks so pretty on my vanity! This goes for $15 of elizabethmott.com.

Sephora Play

Cosmetic Bag 


This cosmetics Bag is cute; the graphic is adorable, “Glow Your Own Way”. I don’t love that its a draw string bag, just because it’s not something I could throw in my purse.

Benefits Watts Up Highlighter

I freaking love this highlighter!!!! Its a gorgeous color with a cream to power finish. I apply this on my cheekbones very lightly and blend out with my fingers for a natural look. To amp it up I will top this with a bright powder highlight so that you can see my highlight for miles. I will say, that I’m kinda cheap and I don’t think I would spend $30 to repurchase this, although I’m sure it lasts forever. I honestly love my Pur Cosmetic Highlight Palette which comes with 3 highlight shades and was only $15, so I just couldn’t see myself getting this for $30. I would buy a travel size though, because this one is small, but has a good amount of product in it. Available for $30 on sephora.com.

Living Proof Full Dry Volume Blast

Picture hair spray meets dry shampoo. That’s exactly what this reminds me of. Not sure if that’s what their going for, but I dig it! I’ve used this a few times so far and I’m feeling it!! For example, last night I curled my hair with a wand and fluffed it up a lot at my root. I sprayed this a good amount onto different sections of the root and shook my hair, like you would to set a dry shampoo. This defiantly absorbed oils and gave me a bit of volume. The texture is very hair spray like in that it’s stiffer. This works great for teasing, backcombing or just a quick touch up. Available at Sephora.com for $29.

Glam Glow Glow Starer Mega Illuminating Moisturizer

I haven’t used this yet, and I’m not sure I want to. I know that sounds bad, but it goes for $49 for a full sized jar and Im afraid I’ll fall in love with this and be broke. The makeup struggle is real here people, I’m not made of money! I do love my high end products, but I’m trying to be reasonable. This is likely a fantastic product, I’ve heard such great things about GlamGlow. I just switch up my moisturizers and primers so often that I don’t know something this pricey would be right for me. I am planning on using this, maybe for a night out and see how it looks. Available at sephora.com for $49.

Bobbi Brown Long-Wear Cream Eyeshadow Stick

I was very excited to see Bobbi Brown in my Sephora bag, as I’ve never used this brand before (again its pricey!). I was a little hesitant when I saw that it was an eyeshadow stick, but I swatched this on my hand and OH MY GOODNESS this color is fabulous. The shade I received is Golden Pink, so perfect for my rose gold addiction! This is shimmery and smoothed and  creamy and pigmented and wears alllllll day and every other god thing you can think. I cannot believe this formula! I should mention that the full size is $30 on Sephora.com, and that is way too much for a single shade of color in my opinion, but I honestly see how they get away with it. This formula is like no other! I wore this to a concert last night and after about 10 hours of being is a sweaty crowd of people, my eyes still looked gooooooood. I am impressed!

Josie Maran Finishing Balm

I haven’t tried this product yet. I am enticed by the idea of a perfecting balm that can be used under or over makeup, I love me makeup that does more than one thing! I am currently hooked on Benefits Professional, so I’ve been using the pretty much everyday. I do want to try this instead and see how it holds up as primer. I’ll let you all know how that works out. This is again one of those, I hope I don’t fall in love because it’s so pricey products coming in at. $36… buuuuut I am willing to pay bit more for a product that helps fill in pores, fine lines, or perfects the skins appearance because I do have acne scarring. 

Chloe Sample Perfume

So, I’m glad this was the 6th product in my bag. That sounds crappy, but I just wouldn’t have been happy if this was considered one of my five beauty products for the month. Since it was in addition to five products, I think it’s great! I don’t mean to be ungrateful, I do love this Sephora subscription, I’m just not much of a perfume girl. I prefer to play around with looks rather than scents. This does smell good, I threw it in my bag and used it as a refresher at the concert last night so it did come in handy.

Overall:

For my Ipsy bag, Im thrilled with my Tarte Lip Paint, Elizabeth Mott Blending Brush, & the cosmetic bag.

From the Sephora Bag, I am ecstatic about the Benefit Watts Up, Living Proof Volume Spray Bobbi Brown Eyeshadow Stick.

Is it terrible that I want to call this a tie after all that?! I mean, these are both amazing values for $10, you really can’t go wrong if you purchased one or both subscriptions.

I guess if I absolutely had to pick, the Sephora bag is more bang for your buck. However, Ipsy is more practical if you’re looking for products to repurchase since its more affordable products that are available at multiple store.

I hope you all liked reading this post! Do you like having the two bags up against each other? Or did you prefer the single bag posts like my normal Ipsy Unboxing? Let me know in the comments below.

Don’t forget to follow me on Instagram (@bewitchingmakeup)

6 thoughts on “Ipsy VS Sephora Play: March 2017

  1. Great comparison! I did Ipsy for a while but it never blew me away. I now do Sephora and Birchbox, but I’ll probably stop Birchbox in the next few months. What I love about Sephora is how easy it would be to purchase the products later – or get an opinion from someone at the store on them. Also, you get a Play Pass which gives you 50 extra BI points if you make any purchase within that month. (sorry for the lengthy comment..)

    Maria Cano | Instagram | Bloglovin’

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m loving sephora so far, this was my first month. I’ve been happy with my Ipsy bag so far as well but I’ve heard a lot of people complaining about that they have received multiple of the same product… I so want to try birch box too! Do you like it?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

